

Cornell University Student Assembly 109 Day Hall Ithaca, NY 14853 p. 607.255.3175 f. 607.255.2182 e. assembly@cornell.edu

w. http://assembly.cornell.edu

Student Assembly R. 85: Supporting the Creation of an Official Cornell Mascot

Sponsor: Sarah Balik on behalf of Geoffrey Block Propose on April 29th, 2014

1	Whereas, traditions connect Cornellians, and create the sense of community we desire;
2 3 4 5	Whereas, Cornell's athletic teams have been a source of pride and tradition for generations of Cornellians;
6 7	Whereas, Cornell does not have an official mascot
8 9 10	Whereas, In 1915, the Cornell varsity football team collected \$25 to buy a black bear cub, which they named Touchdown, to serve as a mascot
10 11 12 13	Whereas, since that day, Touchdown the "Big Red" Bear has served as the de facto mascot of Cornell University;
14 15 16	Whereas, Touchdown's presence throughout Cornell, such as on the University Mace and the entrance to Willard Straight Hall, permanently connects it to the history of the University
17 18 19	Whereas, the creation of a statute of Touchdown further reinforces the notion that Touchdown is our mascot
20 21 22	Be it therefore resolved, that the Student Assembly fully supports the recognition of Touchdown as the official mascot of Cornell
23 24 25	Be it Further Resolved, that this resolution be forwarded to the Board of Trustees for consideration
26 27	Respectfully Submitted
28 29 30	Geoffrey Block '14 Vice President of Finance, Student Assembly
31 32 33	Alfonse Muglia '14 Director of Elections, Student Assembly
34 35 36	Melissa Lukasiewicz '14 Vice President of Internal Operations, Student Assembly
37	Ian Harris '16
lf you	are in need of special accommodations, contact Office of the Assemblies at (607) 255-3715 or Student Disability

1	Vice President of Public Relations, Student Assembly
2 3 4 5	Adam Nicoletti '12 Vice President of Finance Emeritus, Student Assembly
6 7 8	Jonathan Weinberg '13 Director of Elections Emeritus, Student Assembly
9 10 11	Adam Gitlin '13 President Emeritus, Student Assembly
12 13 14	Natalie Raps '12 President Emeritus, Student Assembly
15 16 17	Dan Kuhr '13 Human Ecology Rep. Emeritus, Student Assembly
18 19 20	Roneal Desai '13 Vice President of Finance Emeritus, Student Assembly
21 22 23	John Mueller '13 Vice-President Emeritus, Student Assembly
24 25 26	Anisha Chopra '13 At-Large Representative Emeritus, Student Assembly
27 28 29	Jadey Huray '14 President, Haven: The LGBTQ Student Union
30 31 32	Juliana Batista '16 Vice President of Outreach, Student Assembly
33 34 35	Wei Yang '14 Co-Chair, Senior Class Campaign
36 37 38	Ihsan Kabir '14 Co-Chair, Senior Class Campaign
39 40 41	Matthew Stefanko '16 ILR Representative, Student Assembly
42 43	Stephen Breedon '14 Vice President of Public Relations Emeritus, Student Assembly